AOS Pirate Fiction

Pirate Flag

When doing research for historic naval fiction books to add to this site I often find ones about  pirates. Some of these may be of interest to naval fiction fans so I am adding them to this index. If you are interested in purchasing any, and direct links are not provided from the book, please visit and search the online stores.

The Requiem Shark

 

Based on the final voyage of the most successful captain in the history of piracy, The Requiem Shark is the tale of William Williams, a pampered young man forced into service aboard the ship of the dreaded Bartholomew Roberts - also known as Black Bart.  With a level of education that sets him apart from his illiterate shipmates, Williams becomes the biographer of the captain - and slowly grows to manhood in the violent world of piracy, struggling to retain his humanity while sailing the blood red seas.  A graphic, rousing literary debut, rich in historical detail, this novel will transport readers to a distant age when all a man needed was the wind at his back, the open seas, and the feel of cold, sharpened steel in his hands.

The Requiem Shark

Read more...

The Adventures of Long John Silver

 

Here it is - the indispensable prelude to Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island. here are the spellbinding adventures of that most attractive and fascinating of villains, Long John Silver, as recounted in later life to Dr James Hawkins.

The story tells how long John Silver fell in with pirates, how the treasure was won and why it was buried on Kidd's Island. It explains how Silver lost his left leg, what turned Gabby Pew into a blind beggarman, what happened to Captain Flint and the Walrus, and how Billy Bones escaped with the map which marked the place of the buried treasure.

The Adventures of Long John Silver is a book for all who know and love Treasure Island. It brilliantly recaptures the swashbuckling era of buccaneering and piracy on the high seas, the great naval wars between Britain, France and Spain, the gross cruelty of the slave trade, and the pirate raids upon the coast of India. it was a world in which little quarter was asked or given, and through which Long John Silver strode, on two sound legs, like a colossus.

The Adventures of Long John Silver

Read more...

Return to Treasure Island

 

In his widely acclaimed novel The Adventures of Long John Silver, Denis Judd provided an ingenious and swashbuckling prelude to Robert Louis Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island. But what happened after Long John quit the Hispaniola on the homeward run? Was it likely that he would have left the remaining silver and precious arms buried on Treasure Island?

Return to Treasure Island is an exciting and authentic sequel to Stevenson's classic that supplies the answers to these and many other riddles. It is the story of Long John's tireless quest to recover the remaining treasure - a quest that takes him from a sugar estate torn by a slave revolt to the Boston Tea-Party. His further adventures are played out not only on Treasure Island itself, but also in a famous sea battle, with Washington's army at Valley Forge, until his eventual return to his homeland - the England of the Napoleonic Wars.

Denis Judd provides us with a full-blooded recreation of a violent, passionate and turbulent age. And, Long John proves to be as ruthless and smooth-tongued as ever, as we follow his interludes with a Spanish widow and a British Sergeants' wife, yet another encounter with Black Dog, a meeting with a certain midshipman named Nelson, and the ruthless decision to murder George Washington. This is the book that both Stevenson's and Long John's fans can't afford to miss - this is the book that tells what happened next.

Return to Treasure Island

Read more...

Skull and Bones

 

Book 3: Treasure Island series

The third in the rip-roaring adventure series of ‘Treasure Island’ prequels for fans of ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’ and Flashman

When infamous 'gentleman of fortune' Captain Flint is captured by the Royal Navy and condemned to hang for mutiny and piracy, it seems that the secret location of his buried treasure will die with him. But Flint has an audacious plan to gain command of ship and crew before they reach London and escape the hangman's noose.

Meanwhile, aboard Flint's former vessel The Walrus, Long John Silver seeks one final prize before retiring from privateering. However his wife Selena has jumped ship to pursue a career on the London stage – only to fall into a trap – so Silver must give chase to save the woman he loves.

Once more Flint and Silver's paths are converging … and it will bring them a vast fortune or certain death.

Skull and Bones

Read more...

Fast Ships, Black Sails

 

Do you love the sound of a peg leg stomping across a quarterdeck? Or maybe you prefer a parrot on your arm, a strong wind at your back? Adventure, treasure, intrigue, humor, romance, danger - and, yes, plunder! Oh, the Devil does love a pirate - and so do readers everywhere! Swashbuckling from the past into the future and space itself, Fast Ships, Black Sails, edited by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer, presents an incredibly entertaining volume of original stories guaranteed to make you walk and talk like a pirate.

 

Includes original stories by Naomi Novik, Garth Nix, Elizabeth Bear, Kage Baker, Michael Moorcock and others.

Fast Ships, Black Sails

Read more...

The Pirate Devlin

This book has been released under the following alternate titles:-
Fight for Freedom

 

As the great powers of Europe fight over the spoils of slavery, corruption and greed, the golden age of piracy is born.

Sold by his father as a child for four guineas, captain’s servant Patrick Devlin knows how cheap a man’s life can be.

But his instinct for survival is strong, and when his master’s ship is sunk by pirates, Devlin makes his choice – to trade his servile existence for a life of dangerous liberty. As he learns to adapt to his brutal new world, he watches men who would once have been his masters fall dead at his feet. Eventually, he finds himself captain of the very ship that took down the vessel of the man he once served – Captain John Coxon – who, disgraced and dissatisfied, hungers to return to the sea and take his revenge.

And when His Majesty’s Government and the East India Company hear of the Pirate Devlin, and that he is in pursuit of a secret French cargo of gold bullion, it is Coxon they send to bring his former dog to heel.

The Pirate Devlin

Read more...

Additional information